Can you get Thunderbird 1.33 AXIA ????

hatimh

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2001
Cool thanks.

I have an ASUS A7M266 what is a safe speed to over clock it to? I have a CoolerMaster EP5-6I11 heatsink & fan, (www.coolermaster.com) says it covers a 1.33 GHz.

Also how important is the thermal paste. on the back of the heatsink there is a little square or brown stuff what is that?

Cheers :)

peteb

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2001
I think the coolermaster is a rather average cooler.

Really the best way is to try a few. I'm using a Swiftech 370 with delta fan at present, and although noisy keeps my cpu below 50 degrees. That's a 1.33@1.58.

I've just ordered an MC462 and some new fans - I'm going to try a home cooling project and get some really low temps for a quiet cooler

-* This Space For Rent *-
email for application details

icyura10

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2001
I just built a system with a swiftech mc462-a cooler. Put it on an ASUS A7M266 mobo. Had to do some mods to get it to fit around the one stupid capacator thats in the area that's supposed to be free. I took a grinding wheel, gnawed off the corner, lost the corner screw for the delta fan, but that was easy to resolve.

Go to a hardware store (or a marine outlet) and find some epoxy called MarineTex. This stuff is as hard as steel, and you can tap or die it if needed. Anyway, then go to the hardware store with the bolts, and find a bolt tha's a tad shorter than the one origionally used to hold the fan down, along with a nut or two.