Status
Not open for further replies.

rakattack

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2011
Hello, i'm a travelling musician so the ultra-light really appeals to me. however, i like the specs of the b43j and would ideally like to be able to play some older games occasionally (hl2, company of heroes)

i mainly use my computer for business (i use a an old school t60 now) but like to watch movies as well as the occasional game.

will the u36 be able to perform, or should i lug around a heavier b43j?

thanks

Solution
I would definitely go with 5650/580M over 5470/640M because the first combo will give you much better gaming performance.
Unfortunately though,it doesn't have an express card slot.
Hello and welcome to the forums
B43J has 2 models,one has HD 5470M,the other one has Intel GMA HD card.Both are
low-end cards but 5470M is notably faster and can handle games like HL2,COH fine.(Though you may have to run COH on medium/low settings)
U36 has GT 310M which will give you roughly the same performance as 5470M.

rakattack

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2011
ye, sorry, i was planning on getting the b43j b-1b (w/ the radeon). i'm wondering if the speed difference, and lack of optical drive in the u36 would be worth the extra portability (and it's cheaper too, i believe)

if the ati mobile graphics are about the same as the nvidia (gt 310m has 1gb of ram, while the ati hd 5470m only has 512mb) then i imagine going w/ the u36 would be the best bet?

thanks again for help/opinions

also, if there are comparable business notebooks anyone would recommend i'd appreciate it. I really like the ruggedness of my thinkpad t60, and was told asus makes really reliable notebooks as well

rakattack

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2011
1. What is your budget?
i'd prefer not to spend more than $1300 (price of asus b43j b-1b)

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
14" at most. i want something portable

3. What screen resolution do you want?
not too important 1366x766 is fine