Sign in with
Your question

Looking for laptop need advice

Last response: in Laptop Tech Support
February 26, 2011 4:35:07 AM

Hello:
I am a teacher living in a remote fly in village northern manitoba. My computer crashed. I was using adobe CS2 SOFTWARE for all my editing. Now I need to purchase new again. My last laptop was purchased for me with necessary programs all integrated and so this time I am on my own. Need help. Have been looking at dell.
Kirk

More about : laptop advice

February 26, 2011 4:38:38 AM

what are your primary requirements and what's your budget??
m
l
a c 244 D Laptop
February 26, 2011 4:41:09 AM

Hello Kirk and welcome to the forums
We need more info,so fill the FAQ first(link in my sig)
m
l
Related resources
a b D Laptop
February 26, 2011 4:22:38 PM

For a solid all around laptop (CS5, gaming, pretrty much anything), I'd recommend the Clevo P151HM which is sold by various vendors (Sager, VoodooPC, WidowPC, Prostar, Xotic.pc, etc) ....it goes for about $1175. Find Canadian vendors here:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clevo/91510-clevo...
m
l
February 27, 2011 1:14:15 AM

shreejan86 said:
what are your primary requirements and what's your budget??

I am a full time artist and part time teacher. I record native peoples stories and tales on video, adding in still shots and making into small movies. I rework photos to insert into movie the movies.
I also work with abused women alot in their recovery and video their stories as part of the process.
So I have a budget of about 1000. I expect to have to buy the CS5 premier and photo shop again as I lost the cs2 suite which will be an extra. I fogot to back up??
m
l
a c 244 D Laptop
February 27, 2011 5:17:12 AM

I asked you to fill out the FAQ because we need more info such as the desired screen size,battery life,brand preferences etc. but it seems you didn't see my post above :) 
Anyway,if you can't wait for sandy bridge laptops,then consider Lenovo Y560