Pixma MG6150 Print Quality Issue.

Yeoman1000

Honorable
Aug 7, 2012
Hi all.

I've been having some trouble with my printer recently. Namely, the colours suddenly (seemingly suddenly) aren't as accurate as they were before. I'm a designer see, so accurate colours are something that is important for me. The colours used to print out very accurate to what was viewable on screen (especially when printing from a pdf or direct from an adobe program). Although I understand they won't be perfect on a printer like mine, they where great.

I have always used a mixture of 'Think' inks from choice stationary, and Canon inks. This is because 'think' didn't provide their own version of the canon Grey Ink until recently, and both blacks, big and small (525 & 526) seemed to last such a long time, whereas colours seemed to be used up far more rapidly. So I usually have 'Think' Cyan Magenta Yellow(PGI-526) installed, and Canon Black, Grey(526), Black(525).

The most recent thing I recall, was that I was noticing streaks and a bit of banding in my printing...the magenta PGI-526 and black pgi-525 inks were both running low, so I figured that was the cause. Anyway, I finished off both inks by doing a print head deep clean, and for some reason I did manual printer head alignment (which according to the print outs, was a bit off).

Those are the last things I recall happening with my printer until I recently realised how the colours printed had changed. (But I cant be sure it wasn't happening a bit before this) What could cause this?

- At first I thought it could be that fact that the Canon PGI-525 was replaced with a Think version...but I bought a canon version and installed it and I've seen no change.

- I have also replaced all the coloured inks just in case, although, in that instance I was replacing Think cartridges with Think. The only two inks I haven't changed are a Canon Black and Grey (PGI-526).