Advice needed for a newbie...

G

hi all,
i am very new in this scene and i've never built a pc.
i'm getting a kit of the following configuration,

Amd thunderbird 1.2
Asus A7A266 2DDR/3SDR
kingston 256mb pc133
Ibm 40GB 2mb 7200 ATA
Creative live D.E 5.1
Creative DTT2200 speakers
Hercules 3D ProphetII GTS 32 DDR/Dvi/out
D-Link 10/100
52x Sony cdrom

Any comments with this config, i'm worrying about getting a compatibility problem.
Should i get a Elsa Gladiac GTS Pro 32mb DDR instead?
Do i need to join the DDR Bandwagon or just stick to the 133 based boards?
Is a Geforce II mx card good enough?

Thanx,
Chin

chaotictech

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I think you will be very happy with that setup.
I'm running a simaler setup and i have no problems.
Although I've heard o outer ppl haveing problems with the platnum 5.1 and k7t type mobo's.
I would check to see if anyone has this type of problem with the mobo your getting.
I have
1.2ghz t-bird
msi k7t pro2-a
320 mb pny platnum pc133 cl 2
visiontek geforce 2 gts
8x dvd
8x4x32 cdrw
50x cdrom
hsp56k modem
linksys etherfast lan
in a 2 1/2 foot server case with 6 casefans
just remember to get a good heatsink and lots of casefans.

Butch2112

Distinguished
May 21, 2001
Looks alot better than the first one I built. I think mine had vacume tubes in it. The only thing I would stress is have a good ground strap and lots of fans. The cooler the better. Good luck.

G

What's a ground strap? Knowing this would answer my follow-up questions.... Thanks in advance.

A nice day to all.

Zitch

Distinguished
May 20, 2001