AMD's Athlon/Duron

Valek_Hawke

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2001
Would like to say Hi to everyone as I am new to Tom's Forums, but I hope to learn a lot. I am going to try my hand at building my first system as per the article I read at Tom's Site, "Do-it-Yourself PC System Part 1", which recommends using an AMD Athlon 800 Mhz processor. The question that I am posed with is that in several of the suppliers catalogs I have looked in, the Athlon and Duron names are used interchangeably and while there is an 800 Mhz listed in both I just wanted to be sure that I got the right processor. Also, it seems like as I read the article I was having some difficulty in discerning the difference between the two. Hope I don't sound too hopelessly computer illiterate, I just want to make sure I am on the right track.

Val

AEboy128

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2001
The athlon is more of a performance model and the duron is more of a value model. Yea, he meant the athlon. The athlon performs better than the duron. If you are building the exact same machine the athlon is what you will want.

Im savin up for a Cobra!! Hehe!!

G

Just don't mention the word "INTEL" or you'll have a flamefest on your hands :)

Athlon is the higher performance chip and a bit pricier than the Duron, which is the lo-cost chip. Either are good choices.

Just make sure that you get a Socket A motherboard, NOT a Slot A. Do the same for the processor, as a Slot a processor will not work for a Socket A board.

If you want to be more current (spend more money), then consider getting a 266 MHz Front Side Bus and/or DDR Memory -- MOTHERBOARD AND PROCESSOR!!! If you get a motherboard that does not support 266, then DO NOT GET A 266 FSB PROCESSOR. If you also want DDR memory (for a SLIGHT performance increase), get a motherboard with the "AMD 760" chipset(as they are by far the best).

BTW: A GREAT place to find good prices on any computer components is www.pricewatch.com.

Valek_Hawke

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2001