Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading..any last min suggestions?

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
June 14, 2001 1:46:16 PM

Finally upgrading the Dell Dimensions P-3 500mhz. I've never had an AMD so anything special I'll need to do?

Asus ASA266
256 PC2100...should I get crucial?
AMD 1.2 266

Anyone know what power supply I have? Will I need to upgrade it? What fan for the AMD do you guys reccomend? I'll use my existing 7200 RPM 12gig HD and 64meg Nvidia. I use my PC 85% of the time for gaming and the rest surfing and a little CAD design.

Thanks,
Gary
June 14, 2001 2:16:46 PM

I'm pretty sure that if you're upgrading from a P3-500 to an AthlonC 1.2 GHz, you'll need a new power supply. You'll also probably need a new heat sink because those chips can get hot.

I'm not too experienced with who makes good power supplies, so someone else will have to suggest a good one. Also, THG has done some great reviews on heat sinks, so you should be able to look at that to find one that best fits your needs.

If the opposite of pro is con, what is the opposite of productivity? Ground first.
June 14, 2001 2:33:22 PM

Yes, you have a 250w power supply, and you'll have to get a 300 watt.

As for a heatsink, if you get a retail Athlon, just use what came with it. Other wise, get something like the ThermoEngine from <A HREF="http://www.3dcoo.com" target="_new">3dCool</A>. It's what I have for my Athlon 1.2/266

Apple? Macintosh? What are these strange words you speak?
Related resources
June 14, 2001 2:42:18 PM

I don't think I'd ever put faith into a stock heat sink these days. Not that I don't doubt that they work. I just doubt that they work very well when a system is under heavy use and/or in a less-than-ideal environment. (Such as summer in Florida without air conditioning.)