Your question

need an advice for a new machine

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
June 15, 2001 4:48:43 AM

hi all the experts out there.
I plan to build a new AMD box soon. I'm thinking to put together followings.

Athlon T-bird 1.33 GHz or 1.4 GHz(probably 1.33 cause it's much cheaper)

iwill kk266

Visiontek Geforce 3

soundblaster live(not sure which one)

2 x Sdram 256

these are what i have in my mind for now. This is my first time building a pc and I gotta admit I'm a little afraid of screwing up while building it. Anyhow, I need advice from you guys(such as if i better wait for New CPU coming along or if there is any conflict between components i chose)
You can give me a better combination of components also. My lists are mostly based on what i have read here in Toms and some other websites.

thanks

More about : advice machine

June 15, 2001 5:07:52 AM

What do you do with your PC? Gaming? CAD?

Anandtech just did a <A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1489" target="_new">Motherboard Roundup</A> that you might want to read.

I have a combination of an Asus A7V133 and an SB Live! Value. I haven't had any problems with stability or quality. I use an ATI Radeon 32MB SDRAM because I'm not much of a gamer. Where are you getting your RAM from?

I can't tell you which is better, because I haven't tested different kinds of motherboards and stuff. What I do know is that my motherboard hasn't crashed on me yet. No overclocking, just everything set up in order, stuff like that. The speed is excellent too (maybe cuz I'm coming from an PII 300@233 for some odd reason).

I, too, just built this machine. Didn't know much, a newbie, if you will... But, I read Tom's DIY PC under $1000. Changed a couple of parts to my liking (mainly due to expenses), and I went for it.

What HD were you gonna use?

<b>My System Specs:</b>
Asus A7V133
Athlon T-Bird 850 (B)
256MB SDRAM PC133 CAS2 (Crucial.com)
ATI Radeon 32MB SDRAM
Sound Blaster Live! Value