AMD approved power supplies

G

I'm fairly new to PC hardware (mostly a Mac person), and am curious as to the importance of AMD approval of power supplies. Currently the type of compuer I'm looking at isn't going to have more than 4 IDE devices, FDD, Duron 800, 2 PCI cards. I'm pretty sure that a 300w PS would do the trick - I'm just not sure of the necessity of an AMD approved PS.
Any help is appreciated.

khha4113

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
<b><A HREF="http://www.cluboc.net/reviews/cpu/amd/thunderbird_1400/page3.htm" target="_new">http://www.cluboc.net/reviews/cpu/amd/thunderbird_1400/page3.htm</A></b>

:smile: Good or Bad have no meaning at all, depends on what your point of view is.

jlbigguy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
There is a little more to it then just the supplied wattage.

Current TBirds generate a lot of heat (this may change with Palomino), and this heat will "gather" between the power supply and the CPU. An AMD approved supply will have air vents on the bottom of the supply (directly above the CPU) to exhaust this hot air. Can't cool the CPU with hot air!

<font color=blue>This is a Forum, not a playground. Treat it with Respect.</font color=blue>

Arrow

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
I would absolutely make sure that it's on their list before I use it.

Rob
Please visit <b><A HREF="http://www.ncix.com/canada/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048" target="_new">http://www.ncix.com/canada/index.cfm?affiliateid=319048</A></b>

jlbigguy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Doesn't matter how much power the system uses. The heat generated by the processor will be trapped by the power supply if it does not have vents on the bottom. Add to this heat the heat from the video card (just below the processor), and the heat from the motherboard voltage regulators (in the vicinity of the CPU in most MB's), and you have a lot of heat that must be removed from the box. If not, it just sits around the processor, and can raise CPU temperatures considerably.