Sign in with
Your question

1.4 Athlon running at 65C CASE OPEN + 5 FANS!!!!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
July 7, 2001 8:24:04 PM

I recently got an upgrade to my pc which previously was a PIII733 on ASUS P3C2000.
Now I have an Athlon 1.4 GhZ running on ASUS A7A266. When I got it it instantly started to overheat. When it reaches 70C it cuts out. Now its running at 64C I I got:

3 small fans top front
1 big fan bottom front
1 cooler (one of those that fits into a card slot)
1 PWR fan also at the bottom where the processor is
and the fan on the heatsink.

Now that's a lot of fans!

I suspect that my CPU heatsink and fan are insufficent. I have a CoolerMaster EP5-6I11. (my local retailer said that was an AMD approved CPU cooler)

I am sure I installed everything correctly as stated in the instructions.

I have read some of the post where people had hot 1.3 GhZ AMD's and I am thinking about getting a better CPU Heatsing & FAn but I am afraid to chip the processor while removing the current one. And I dont know what the best fan is for such processor.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

thanks
a b à CPUs
July 7, 2001 8:51:50 PM

Your cooler is indeed undersized. But you don't really need to even remove it if that makes you nervous. Instead, you may be able to drop the temp by 10C simply by installing a better fan! I have several Evercool fans that produce ~34CFM, which should do the job. While not as powerfull as a Delta, they are only half as loud and half as expensive. And you can replace the fan without removing the cooler, if your skilled with a small screwdriver.

If you want a better cooler, you could try a Thermaltake VolcanoII, that should give you 5-10C better cooling.

If you REALLY want some cooling, put an Evercool fan on the VolcanoII! That combo should give you 10-15C over what you have now.