Sign in with
Your question

Looking for comments from fellow experienced IT professionals!

Last response: in Business Computing
May 9, 2012 3:27:33 PM

I have a situation that I need help from the community on!
I am a 20+ year IT professional that dives into all aspects of IT as well as all OS’s

My employer is not in a technology driven field. It’s just me in IT and I do everything IT related.
Here is a summary of what we have. I have a 2003 server with Terminal Services enabled that the users use to run a proprietary ERP system that is made with Microsoft Access. This computer is running on a Dell Poweredge 1850 – with 2 hard drives in a NON RAID format, just a data drive as well as an OS drive.
I have another server here that is the same machine, a Dell Poweredge 1850 – also with no RAID configuration. This system runs IIS services and Microsoft SQL that communicates with the first server mentioned and takes the data and dynamically updates their website. Both servers are in an Active Directory structure. I have 2 other servers, one being Linux, for a collaboration system, and the other is being made into a new ERP system with new software.
Here’s what happened.

Last Thursday (May 3rd, 2012) an employee with a fairly new laptop with about 6 months of custom data on it, approached me and said that his computer just suddenly froze, and when he restarts, it just goes to a blinking cursor. So I take the machine and turn it on, and notice right away that the Hard Drive is not showing up during POST. I take the laptop apart and pull the drive, and place it on my SATA to USB adapter and try firing it up, the drive doesn’t even spin up. I ask about backups and there are none that have been made. So I tell him I will come up with a plan for tomorrow and end the day. This laptop had all of our forms and documents over the last 6 months, that are very crucial to the company.