G

hi, i am probably gonna build my own computer and i was wondering if anyone knows of good places on the net to get cheap (but quality) computer hardware? The only things i really need to get are:
a processor at least 1 ghz (i'm thinking prolly an amd athlon),
a motherboard that works for that processor,
a hard drive (20 gb is fine, doesn't need to be good)
a power supply
and a case.

so all i need are the big expensive pieces, i already have a cd drive, A:\ drive, video card, sound card, mouse, keyboard, etc. I'm thinking i can get a really good computer for only a few hundred bucks like this.

so anyways, what would you guys recommend for a processor/motherboard etc. and where to buy them?

BTW, i have never done this before, do all cases fit everything or do you have to carefully look them over to find what's right for your system first?

thanks

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
Get abit kt7a if youre going sdram, I would say Kg7raid if you were going ddr, but its not out yet and isnt cheap

get a 1ghz tbird(hope for axia)

ibm hdds are the best

~Matisaro~
"Friends don't let friends buy Pentiums"
~Tbird1.3@1.55~

G

is asus A7M266 a good mobo? Also, what new is coming out (i've heard something about amd mp's and nforce's)? i just don't want to get something that will be trash in 5 years (which is also why i've now decided to go with ddr ram)

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
Wait a few months for reviews to come in on the nforce boards, im not sure about the a7m, sounds familliar but im running kt7a raid right now.

~Matisaro~
~Tbird1.3@1.55~

MeTaLrOcKeR

Distinguished
May 2, 2001
A7M266 alogn with any otehr AMD761 based Motherboard are THE best performing DDR boards....I've ehard the MSI K7 Master is a bit better performing, but they've both came up with some good reviews.....

-MeTaL RoCkEr
My <font color=red> Z28 </font color=red> can take your <font color=blue> P4 </font color=blue> off the line!

jlbigguy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007