Best ~23-24" LED monitor for Gaming/Movies/GFX all round

V3rge

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2011
I have been using a 19" CRT for about 4 years now (my other one got so blurry I couldnt read any text, and the back has literally melted!), and smaller onces before then. I have never owned a TFT before but have been looking to buy one for years. I have recently been doing alot of review reading about many of the LED-LCD screens around the 23"-24" range but have seen many conflicting reviews which put me off buying one of the monitors I wanted. I was hoping that manufactures would be bringing out 16:10 LED backlit screens but it doesn't look like thats ever going to happen so I will be going with a 16:9.

Now, I live in New Zealand, so we don't always get new monitors to quick here, if at all. Some of the prices are totally out of whack between competitors screens also.

If you want to see which monitors i'm able to get here, follow the link (prices are in NZD):
http://pricespy.co.nz/category.php?k=393#rparams=l=s65734522

The budget im aiming for is $500NZD (roughly $400USD), I would much prefer a high end screen then a low end budget one.

Now the screen I need has to be fast, preferably really fast. So a TN panel is what im aiming for. I really cant stand input lag or low refresh rates in games or outside. I do ALOT of Photoshop work, CAD design, Movie watching and Gaming so I need something that will handle all tasks exceptionally well and equally. I also want HDMI and DVI inputs, other inputs are not important. Put simply, I need and want Colour, Speed, Contrast, Vibrance and Functionality.

Initially I was going to go out and buy a Samsung PX2370 but I came across a number of reviews in which the reviewers gave much better reviews of other screens which are much cheaper and performed better.