Suggestions for buying a system?

ANON

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2003
Hi,

I wasn't sure if this was the best forum on which to post, but here goes....

I'm trying to help my mother-in-law purchase a desktop PC.
Unfortunately, in my line of work, we use exclusively Macs (except for an Alpha Linux box and a Dell running Red Hat Linux), so I have no experience with purchasing PCs. I was wondering if anyone has any bad (or good) experiences with the various systems I'm considering.

Through my university, I can buy the following system:
IBM NetVista (tower case)
- 2.8 GHz P4
- 640 MB RAM
- 80 GB hard drive (7,200 RPM)
- DVD+RW drive
- combo drive in 2nd bay
- 19" CRT monitor
- not sure what the video card is but it can support dual displays (she already has an older CRT that she also wants to use)
- modem
- 10/100 Ethernet
- USB 2.0
- 3 year warranty
- $1,630 + tax (shipping included)

I surfed the web to look at alternate systems with similar configurations -- differences are noted below, and all of the systems below were configured with 512 MB RAM and a 120 GB (7,200 RPB) hard drive instead of an 80 Gig. I could probably upgrade the 80 Gig drive in the IBM NetVista above for not too much more money, or I could add my own drive into the empty bay later. I only checked the manufacturer's websites (i.e.- I haven't yet checked any resellers), and all prices include shipping (but not tax):

Gateway 700X: $2,208, with only a DVD-RW drive (NOT DVD+RW) -- no drive in the 2nd bay.

Dell Dimension 8250: $2,387 with only a DVD+RW drive -- no 2nd optical drive.

HP Pavilion: $1,488.99 with NO monitor, and DVD-ROM for 2nd optical drive (not a combo drive).

1. is the deal that I'm seeing for the IBM a good one?
2. does anyone have any comments regarding one manufacturer over the others.
3. if this affects your suggestions, the machine will be running XP Pro and used in a home office for web development (mostly Dreamweaver, Flash and Fireworks), surfing, and running MS Office.