Which cpu has the most life left? P4 or Tbird!!!!!

G

I've been wanting to build my own system for a while, but the problem is that I'm an unemployed HS student. I was working at Best Buy as a cashier, but I felt guilty selling pheasants inferior products and had to quit. Also, standing in one spot for 7 hours straight and trying to sell 7 warranties/credit cards/garbage crap per customer can get on your nerves. Ah, the repetitiveness continues to boggle my noggin!! Sorry about the rambling. I'm a student on a limited budget, and I was wondering which cpu would be the best to go with. My first idea was a high end tbird, but then I realized the tbird line doesn't have that much life left. What speed do you think the tbird will max out at? I want to be able to upgrade the cpu at least once so I can get my mon0ey's worth out of new system parts!! Should I wait until P4+DDR becomes a reality? What should I buy and when should I buy it. I'm running WIN2K, so I guess the new Athlon MP would also be a viable option if it ever goes down in price. Last but not least, does the kind of case you buy really matter? If I had a great heatsink/fan, would that keep me safe with a mediocre case. Any case suggestions or resources to find cases? I guess the moral of this story is that I need a job. Its just so hard trying to remain civil around so many stupid people for 8hrs straight. Could I get any kind of IT job at the age of 17? I almost have my A+ Certification!!!
Thanks in Advance!!!:)

Boondock_Saint

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2001
Athlon for sure. The PIV right now is switching to new core, which would make upgrading in the future using current PIV mainboards not possible. Athlon based systems can be upgraded all the way to the Barton core, using Socket A the whole time. http://www.amd.com/news/virtualpress/roadmap.html