AMD T-Bird: Opinions Please.

DaveP57

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2001
I'm kinda new to the world of computers, I've owned one for only about a year now, and am considering paying a small bussiness to upgrade my motherboard and install a faster CPU. This particular bussiness has a good deal on AMD T-Bird Chips. I'm more familiar with the intel family of chips: PII, PIII, PIV, but don't really know much about the AMD chips. What is the T-Bird Chip comparable to? Would this chip be a good choice for a gaming system? Any opinions greatly appreciated. Thanks. DP57.

killall

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
athlons are a lot faster than pentium 4s clock for clock and slightly faster than p3s... a 1.4 athlon performs a lot better than a 1.7 pentium 4 in nearly all circumstances (unles syou work a lot with video) they are also cheaper as is ddr which is faster than rdram... intel really got something wrong when they released the pentium 4, oh well...

if in doubt blame microsoft...

BigRat

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
it very much depends on what motherboard you want to use though. But anyway you should take the time to get all the latest drivers and patches to make sure you system runs stable.

:cool: :eek: :redface: :frown: :lol: :mad: :eek: :smile: :tongue: :wink:

BigRat

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
athlon is the name to the whole family. t-birds are the second generation athlon, t-bird c are the third gen.

:cool: :eek: :redface: :frown: :lol: :mad: :eek: :smile: :tongue: :wink:

girish

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Palomino the fourth... etc!

the Tbird will compare to the Pentium-III, while teh Duron will compare to Celeron but at times its at par with the P-III!

girish

<font color=blue>die-hard fans don't have heat-sinks!</font color=blue>

SerArthurDayne

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2001
Bah! At 1ghz, my 25 dollar Duron is equivalent to a PIII 933 with similar specs. At 1.1ghz, it outperforms it by far.