Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Ahhh help me decide! Asus VG278HE vs Samsung S27A850

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
February 25, 2013 2:48:33 PM

Hi everyone,

So im stuck in the final part of organising my new rig. I cant decide between these two monitors so I figured id put the question to the crowd.

Im buying this for my new gaming computer. Main use is gaming and movies. I play with photoshop sometimes but im far from a professional with it so just a good quality monitor is what im looking for, with a focus on the gaming experience. Essentially im looking to spend around the $500 mark on ym screen. Im looking for a 27" and either 120hz/1440p/3d as "extra features" which would be nice. Dont need all of them (havnt found one which does all of them) but im essentially weighing up which is important to me, and then considering my gloss/matte problem.

My computer sits in the corner of my room on my desk. Right next to my chair is a window where I get decent light into the room. Im abit worried about a gloss screen (my current is an older Acer 26" AL2616W matte monitor which is fine with the window open. So picture a L shape with computer on one arm of the L and the window on the other shining inwards).

I am using my old monitor for a double screen setup. I use my computer alot during the day with the window open because I write on the computer alot. Im abit worried about picking up a screen which is unusable within closing the curtains.

So a few criteria have lead me to these two monitors.

-------

gloss vs matte - as I mentioned, alittle worried about gloss, but is it worth the risk for the gaming experience?

60hz vs 120 hz - 120 sounds nice, people say theres a smoothness to them which is nice but its not a requirement for me.

Response time - Both have sufficient response time for me. Im not a twitch/competitive gamer so I dont need to go IPS necessarily.