Sign in with
Your question

Fast help needed!

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
August 23, 2001 9:49:04 PM

I need fast help with my DVD-ROM, I know it's NOT THIS FORUM!, BUT people don't visit it as often as this one! So I just got my PLextor 16x and it works, cool and blah-blah. I need it in my Primary Master slot (I have my hard drive in Matser ATA100 slot different from Primary Master, I have an A7V mobo) and my DVD-ROM in secondary slot! Mobo detects DVD in Primary Master slot but doesn't in Secondary slot! waht to do? I changed cables, I set jumpers to autodetect and Seconday Primary and etc. I'm out of ideas! Help! Should I use ONE cable for DVD and CD-RW??? I heard it would make SLOW! HELP!!! PLEASE!
Thank, You!

More about : fast needed

August 23, 2001 9:51:57 PM

Go buy an ATA100 pci card or wait for someone to help you cuz im not that good with dvd and cdroms.

Nice Intel and AMD users get a Cookie.... :smile: Yummy :smile:
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
August 23, 2001 10:03:33 PM

No, my HDD is HOOKED to Promise ATA100 slot!
Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
August 23, 2001 10:04:14 PM

wait..... you said you have one hard drive, a cd-rw drive, and a dvd drive? heres my recommendation
primary ide channel-
master: hard drive
slave: none
secondary ide channel-
master: dvd drive (probably faster reading that cd-rw so better used as primary cd drive)
slave: cd-rw
unless you have a seperate ata100 slot (giving 1 ata slot (or two if theres a secondary ata slot) and 2 ide channels)...
then heres my recommendations (as to the bios configuration I don't know what you'd have to do) (like previous, with jumper settings)
ata100 slot-
master: hard drive
slave?: none
primary ide-
master: dvd drive
secondary ide-
master: cd-rw