Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Which ISO-file should I choose???

Last response: in Windows 7
January 30, 2013 5:30:29 AM

Hi,

I am going to reinstall Windows 7 Home Premium on my PC and was about to download the latest ISO-file from Digital River when I found that there seems to be TWO different versions.
One is called: Windows 7 Professional SP1-U ISO and the 64-bit Swedish filename is: X17-59273.iso

However there is also a Windows 7 Professional N SP1-U ISO (Note: N editions come without media components) with the Swedish file name: X17-59424.iso

So what does this “N” after “Professional” mean? That is, what does it mean that the edition comes “without media components”???

As I am going to download the ISO-file and then boot from an USB-stick, which one should I choose?

And I guess that, even if the ISO file is labeled as a Windows 7 Professional, I will be able to choose Windows 7 home Premium 64-bit during the installation process, right?

Thanks!

More about : iso file choose

January 30, 2013 6:02:16 AM

Quote:
So what does this “N” after “Professional” mean? That is, what does it mean that the edition comes “without media components”???

IIRC, due to some licensing issues M$ had to remove media components so that Widows could be used in EuropeaN countries. That's the N version.

Quote:
And I guess that, even if the ISO file is labeled as a Windows 7 Professional, I will be able to choose Windows 7 home Premium 64-bit during the installation process, right?

You won't be able to install Home Premium using Professional version iso(unless you modify a particular file ;)  ).
Get the Home Premium iso.
m
l
January 30, 2013 6:09:45 AM

Thanks a lot kaos!

I only had the link for Win 7 Profession ISO-file, but i guess a simple search will help me find the right ISO-file for the Swedish version?
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

January 30, 2013 10:59:31 AM

Wolters said:
Thanks a lot kaos!