Sign in with
Your question

CPU Upgrade Problem

Last response: in CPUs
September 7, 2001 3:43:38 PM

My system: Gateway Performance 500, Intel mobo, Phoenix BIOS, 384MB RAM. Trying to upgrade the stock PIII 500MHz Slot 1, SECC2 processor to a PIII 800. With the new processor the machine boots up, posts, and is recognized in the BIOS. But, after about a minute or two, everything freezes up and I must shut down manually. When I replace it with the old 500, everything is fine again.
At first I thought it was overheating, but both processor and heatsink are cool to the touch. The BIOS has the latest upgrade available from Gateway's site. Any suggestions? I've never done this before, and I'm not the most computer savvy guy around. I thought, and was hoping, it would be as simple as pulling out the old CPU and pushing in the new.

More about : cpu upgrade problem

a c 159 à CPUs
September 7, 2001 11:28:34 PM

Your Gateway system probably has a 145 watt power supply. The pentium III 800 requires more power. Try changing to a 250 ps, which you can order cheap on the internet, or find for about $25 at your local computer store. Just loosen the 4 screws that hold it in back of the case, and unplug all the connectors inside. Takes about 15 minutes to change out. Good luck.
September 8, 2001 12:52:39 AM

You might have a problem if your chipset is BX and your processor is 800EB. you need straight 800E for best results. EB is 133Mhz FSB, regular E is 100Mhz FSB
Related resources
September 8, 2001 1:12:45 AM

o1die, I actually have a 200W PSU, so I'm assuming that is not the issue.
Fugger, it is an E processor, 100FSB.
The Gateway papers on this mobo state the following:

"The 4000608 motherboard does not support processors 2507072 and 2507074 or any other Coppermine processors.