Help with purchasing a New Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

pkarrus

Distinguished
May 4, 2011
Hello every!

I am new to the community and would like some advice on what laptop to buy.

Pretty much I am using the laptop for mostly video viewing, note taking for class, and mainly playing my favorite game Starcraft II.

I have no brands in mind, but have been hearing good things about Asus.

I would like the price to be under $1000

For specs:

Would like 15 inch, a little smaller or bigger is okay

Most important factor I am looking for is portability (will be taking with me to class and taking notes)
Battery life is very important as well (would like around 3+ hours)

I am very new to all of this technological things so I am very ill informed about the cpu, graphics card, and whatnot.

Thanks for the community's time and potential recommendations.

-pkarrus

Solution
Hello pkarrus;

Dell XPS 15 $800 has all your requirements nicely covered.
Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz Sandy Bridge CPU, 4GB RAM 500GB 7200rpm HDD 15.6" 1366x768 LCD w/ GT 525M graphic card/Optimus
For an extra $100 you can upgrade the graphics card to GT 540M.
Another $150 would get you a 1920x1080 LCD screen if you want to squeeze that into the top end of your budget. You can probably catch a sale or a coupon and get it at the top end of your budget.

Dell XPS 15 Notebook (i5-2410M & GT 540M) review

pkarrus

Distinguished
May 4, 2011
Sorry, but forgot to read the FAQ

1. What is your budget?
under $1000

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15 inch

3. What screen resolution do you want?
not sure

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
portable

5. How much battery life do you need?

preferably 3 + hours but negotiable

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

starcraft II, would like medium-high setting