Sign in with
Your question

Athlon XP muckups already

Last response: in CPUs
October 15, 2001 11:51:32 PM

Hey, newbie here.
just wanted to let people know that the Athlon XP MHz confusion is starting.

don't know if anybody else has seen this but if you visit www.ddcc.com.au and them jump to the CPU price list. they are listing Athlon XP 1.5 GHz to 1.8 GHz

prices are Aussie dollars and similar to other prices for the same REAL part (not the imaginary clocked parts)

Thought it might be interesting to you all.

Matt

More about : athlon muckups

October 16, 2001 12:11:53 AM

This is indeed sad, and the fact they take it as GHZ is gonna cause much more trouble than when the customer finds out his 1.8ghz is 1.5.. I mean salesman need to tell the truth here! They should be honest, telling them the true speed, and telling them that it is indeed the best processors still..
October 16, 2001 2:03:12 AM

actually i wrote them an email (well I'm gonna) because I think they made an honest mistake..
maybe it's different in the US but in Australia we quite often have salemen that no little or nothing about the product.
but I still feel sorry for the end-users.

Matt
Related resources
October 16, 2001 2:15:27 AM

its worldwide mate. seen german ads advertising the 1.7Ghz xp.

but your right, VERY hard to find honest upfront knowledgable PC vendors.

(ive got a small select list ive painstakingly compiled)

p.s.
auzzie auzzie auzzie!

Religious wars are 2 groups of people fighting over who has the best imaginary friend.
October 16, 2001 2:56:33 AM

I wrote them too. If everyone writes to them they are going to have to do some thing about it. And I told them if they do not change it. I will let Amd deal with it.
October 16, 2001 5:21:13 AM