Sign in with
Your question

Spend money now or later?

Last response: in CPUs
October 21, 2001 1:35:32 AM

I am a college student with mere $6000 (and rapidly decreasing! >:)  in the bank looking to upgrade my 3-year old P2 450, which means I can barely dish out a grand or less for a new system and I want to get the most bang for the buck.

My initial choice was to go with the Althon XP 1800, ECS SiS735 chip mobo, 60GB HD, new case, plextor CD-R, cruical 256 or 512mb RAM, heatsink&fans&whatnot for around $770, and I'll just move my old system's GeForce2 Pro and Monstersound MX300 card over.

But to me, Althon XP 1800+ is only a tad faster than TB1.4, with overclocking, their speed will not matter with only slight difference in performance.

So: TB1.4 + ECS mobo for $100 less? Then upgrade about 15 months later?

Or, stick with all speed: XP 1800+ and a VIA266a for 2 perhaps 2½ years? $50 more?

Or, somewhere in between, overclocked TB1.4 and VIA266a? for $50 less?

Well, perhaps I am stepping over myself, but I want as much juice I can squeeze out of a system before it retires. It doesn't take long for the fastest drop down to slowest, with next generation AMD CPUs and nVidia's nForce board coming out of the door, I never felt so poor......

More about : spend money

Anonymous
a b à CPUs
October 21, 2001 1:46:31 AM

hey, u have a good pc, stick to it for 2 more years!
u have good c3D card for games , run every thing well, and CD rw ,that what any body need in his pc !!
why heart the enviroment with more trach
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
October 21, 2001 1:52:45 AM

To field your question:

Nforce doesn't look too promising right now.
Kt266a is a good chipset (better than sis735) but there are very few boards (and fewer good boards) out.
XP is better than Tbird and can be overclocked quite a bit more, since it releases less heat.