When to Upgrade? And Where to buy?

G

Hi!
I am a newbie at this forum so i would ask couple of questions.
I am thinking of upgrading my system but i dont know if it is time or not.
Secondly i would like to know good place on the net where i can buy a hardware. BTW i live in canada so i will need online shop that could ship to canada.
Thanks
My System spects.
P!!! 733
224Mb of Ram
40+8 gig harddrives both 5400rpm
Kyro 2 Video Card

MeTaLrOcKeR

Distinguished
May 2, 2001
Hi there, I aswell live in Canada, I'm in the Toronto Area though I don't know what area you are in.
I Do however know of 2 places that sell stuff online, and have onlien price qoutes etc.

http://www.pccanada.com/
&
http://www.infonec.com/

both great places.....

check them out..

BTW it all depends on what you want...

Personalyl I recomend that AMD Ahthlon XP Processor, and at Premiere Computer Cananda (www.pccanada.com) they have them IN-STOCK...
If your goign the AMD Route, get the Athlon XP hooked up with a VIA KT266 or a SiS 735 Chipset..

If your goign to wait for the Northwood Pentium 4 then your goign to have to wait till January now I believe.....

Anyways, check them out and good luck! =)

-MeTaL RoCkEr
My <font color=red> Z28 </font color=red> can take your <font color=blue> P4 </font color=blue> off the line!

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
I think a good rule of thumb for general pc users(not addicts like me or many other thg forum junkies) Is to upgrade when the speed of the top cpu is about 2x the speed of your current cpu. His 733 is decent for running games at 800x600, but pretty soon it will begin to age, and now is a GREAT time to buy computers. Prices are rock bottom and performance is king, and for those of us who work in the pc industry(sales, fabrication etc etc) we should encourage people to upgrade so we can perhaps keep our jobs ;-).

~Matisaro~
"The Cash Left In My Pocket,The BEST Benchmark"
~Tbird1.3@1.5~

lakedude

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007