Can't Upgrade 98 to 98SE

julielou2

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2003
Hello Board

I got my new graphics card (thank you for your help with that - got a GF4 MX 440) and on the box it states that it requires 98SE. Fortunately a friend gave me a copy of his 98SE as I didn't have a hard copy of my W98 O/S. I thought that I would be able to upgrade my 98 to 98SE using this CD but it scans my system and says that it can't upgrade using a full disk and that it needs an upgrade disk.

This does seem silly, is there anyway around it? Does the GF4 MX 440 need 98SE or will it work with old 98? If not, do I have to uninstall Windows 98 before putting 98SE on and if so, how do I do that? I'm not an experienced techie so please could you explain in simple terms.

Thank you in advance. :)

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
from usenet:
<pre>Does anyone know how I can upgrade from WIN98 to a full version WIN98
second edition disk (not an upgrade but the full install for a new PC)?

Message 2 in thread
Subject: Re: Upgrade from WIN98 to WIN 98SE using full installation CD

No, you cannot install Win98 from an OEM CD on a computer that already
has an operating system. You need to purchase the Updgrade or Updates
CD for Windows 98.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/highlights/windows98se.asp and see
the Already Running Windows 98 section for the Updates CD ($20 US)

--
Doug Knox, Microsoft MVP MPS-D

Message 3 in thread
Subject: Re: Upgrade from WIN98 to WIN 98SE using full installation CD

A real "Full" install disc won't care if Windows 98 is already present.
What you probably have isn't a "Full" disc, but rather an "OEM" disc that
isn't supposed to be used or sold except with a computer system purchase or
a qualifying hardware purchase. It is, in fact, labeled as such if that's
what it is.

If so, you're out of luck, this disc will not install on any system with any
version of Windows present. You should return it for the correct disc -