Best Gaming PC *DELETED*

G

If you're looking for an OEM computer (where you go to a computer company and they build you a machine), Dell has a very good reputation. You might pay a little more, but they don't cut any corners in terms of part quality. Their support is also supposed to be great.

I would personally avoid Gateway, and I have no experience with Compaq.

Do you have a friend who knows how to build computers? If you do, why not ask him or her for advice? A lot of computer builders really relish the opportunity to build a quality computer for a friend, and make sure that the friend doesn't get screwed over by some OEM. I know I do.

G

How old is your kid and what kind of game does he play? Depending on the game he plays, your budget, long term usage of the computer and it's main purpose. we should be able to give you some idea.

eden

Champion
I'd definitly be willing to help, except I dunno what is your price range, and if there are some components already not needed to buy again. Also where ar you from? This might help in quoting prices, or such.
Tell me those, and we'll get you a good PC depending on your price range. Right now AthlonXPs are the best damn value for the buck, as they have the best performance. But stay away from any ass salesman who tells you to buy a P4 with SDRAM!!! Not even 1g of SDRAM would help an already badly performing processor to compare!

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
OEM computers almost always come with very poor performing standard graphics. But many companies allow upgrade options.
Dell has moved to SDRAM in it's low end P4 desktops, and SDRAM doesn't work well with the P4.
My advice is, if you want to buy from a major manufacturer, Dell is still OK as long as you know what your getting. I would get a P3 system from them, as P4 systems with appropriate RDRAM are very expensive.
Gateway is a reasonable choice, but still, if your getting a P4 make sure it comes with RDRAM.