Sign in with
Your question

risk of overheating with amd athlons?

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
November 12, 2001 4:50:48 AM

Im looking into building own computer and right now just started out deciding on the components. i will probably go with an amd athlon xp 1800. ive heard these processors are alot easier to fry. since im completely new to building computers should i get this processor or get an intel? I don't want to run any risk of overheating and destroying my cpu. if i get the retail version of the 1800 are all the fan components in the box? i don't want to have to go buy a fan and find out its the reason of my fried cpu. thanks for the help.
November 12, 2001 5:02:50 AM

A CPU will only burn up if you apply the heatsink/fan wrong or if you don't get a good one. I would say the risk is basically zero unless you don't follow the instructions.

Buy a good heatsink (doesn't have to be expensive) with a fan that suits your needs. Apply it with Arctic Silver 2.

If you're getting the retail version it'll come with a decent HSF, but you won't be able to install it with Arctic Silver 2 since it has a thermal pad and using Arctic Silver 2 will void your warranty. Nonetheless if you aren't overclocking the retail route is fine and you'll have a 3 year warranty.

Personally though I buy an OEM cpu and I buy a better HSF that meets my needs. It's cheaper that way but you don't get the warranty. Makes no difference though since if there is something wrong with the CPU you'll notice within the first 2 weeks and an OEM CPU is covered for at least that long.

Here's a good site for HSF reviews:
<A HREF="http://www.dansdata.com/coolercomp.htm" target="_new">http://www.dansdata.com/coolercomp.htm&lt;/A>

<font color=red>God</font color=red> <font color=blue>Bless</font color=blue> <font color=red>America!</font color=red>
November 12, 2001 10:37:30 AM