Moron needs help

G

I have no handware knowledge when it comes to computers so if my question seems juvenile or "common" knowledge, please do not laugh or make any crude, childish remarks.

Do I need to worry about overheating a AMD XP 1800+ or 1900+ if I do not overclock?

<font color=green>H</font color=green><font color=yellow>ep</font color=yellow><font color=green>T</font color=green><font color=yellow>udor</font color=yellow> :cool:

Thanatos00

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2001
If you're not overclocking the proceesor, the OEM HSF should be fine. But if you're looking for something better than OEM I would go with a Volcano6cu.

<font color=blue>- Studies show that the human brain approaches 100 percent retention. -</font color=blue>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
You won't need to worry about it overheating as long as you have adequate case ventilation and adequate cooling. Even the stock Retail Boxed cooler will work for a non-overclocked system.

What's the frequency, Kenneth?

AMD_Man

Splendid
Jul 3, 2001
Don't call yourself a moron because it invites trolls such as AMDMeltdown to use you and make fun of you.

AMD technology + Intel technology = Intel/AMD Pentathlon IV; the <b>ULTIMATE</b> PC processor

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
Stock retail heatsink and one case fan is all any athlon needs to not worry about heat.

Dont listen to meltdown, he is still mad his mom got him a tbird for school instead of his precious p4, when he called his mom an amd pup, she told him the money she saved buying the athlon is going into his special "fund" to pay for his facial reconstruction surgery.Now everytime someone mentions the great value of amd processors he is subconciously reminded of his repugnant facial oddity, thus the anger at amd users. Poor meltdown, pity him and his hideously deformed face.

~Matisaro~
"The Cash Left In My Pocket,The BEST Benchmark"
~Tbird1.3@1.5~

MeTaLrOcKeR

Distinguished
May 2, 2001