new computer questions

G

I'm getting a new computer and not sure what parts I should get. I've never built a computer before, but I have taken mine apart before. I think I know what to get, but I'm not that sure. Does anyone know of any good sites to buy stuff from or have any opinions on what to get. So far this is what I think im going to get

ENLIGHT 7237/340 MIDDLE TOWER W/340W
PLEXTOR 24X/10X/40X EIDE INTERNAL CDRW
creative 16x dvd
athlon 1900 xp
512 ddr pc 2100 ram
ABIT KG7-R
creative audigy gamer
2 MAXTOR 60.0GB 7200 rpm
xp pro
i already have a moniter and my price range is 2k to 3k. If anyone has any suggestions or comments please respond

MeTaLrOcKeR

Distinguished
May 2, 2001
AMD Athlon XP 1900+
ABIT KG7-Raid
Swiftech MCX462
512MB PC-2100 DDR-RAM
Ati Radeon 8500 64MB AGP Video Card
Sound BLaster Audigy Series Sound Card
Teac 24x16x40 CD-RW
Pioneer 16X Slot Loading DVD-Rom
2 Seagate Barracuda IV(4) 60 GB Drives....
Windows XP Professional

ALSO...get that Enlight Mid-Tower case BUT Buy the Enermax 350Watt Power Supply.....now your all set and your DEFINENTLY under $3000......for 100% sure =) even in Canadian sollars =)

-MeTaL RoCkEr

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=13597" target="_new"> <b> My Rig </b> </A>

AMD_Man

Splendid
Jul 3, 2001
yeah, those are awesome specs MetalRocker, but I'd go with the Maxtors rather than the Seagates. Also, I personally dislike Creative cards because of their constant cracking and popping and would recommend a Hercules Game Theater XP.

AMD technology + Intel technology = Intel/AMD Pentathlon IV; the <b>ULTIMATE</b> PC processor

MeTaLrOcKeR

Distinguished
May 2, 2001
Your only 15 and quite experienced eh.....im nto much older, beign 18 and all.....lol

anyways, the Seagate Barracuda 4 is a MUCH better drive than any Maxtor drive otut here right now....