PIII 866
256 MB RDRAM (700)
Geforce 2 GTS Oc
2x 40 Gig 7200 (ATA 100)
Zip
CD-R-RW
DVD
Soundblaster LiVe 5.1

I am a poor student :/ and I cannot afford to buy new hardware until next summer. But I want to push the performance of this system. But the BEEP! BEEP! BEEEEEP! Dell do not seem to give you any ability to overclock :/

It so frustrating !!

Anyhow don't ever buy a dell or any other prebuilt heap of junk (I realise that most of you are far too sensible anyway)

Tim

I am Homer of Borg ! Prepare to be... MMMhhhhh Doughnuts

Conqueror

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2001
Just cos u can't overclock the damn thing, so you want to throw your machine away?

A year ago, the spec you quoted would have costed twice the price of what you would have to pay today.

Overclocking is not the only way forward. You have so many other options.

Besides, you got your system for free!! Chill out dude!

<font color=blue><i>Mankind must put an end to War,
or War will put an end to mankind!<i></font color=blue>

Stiffler

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
I am super chilled LOL you couldn't even begin to understand how chilled I am at this exact moment. Just felt the urge to have a rant :)

Yeah when I got this system it was pretty class :) and it has lasted pretty well. I don't want to overclock only for performance gains, well maybe a little but its not essential as I don't ever really push this system. I like to mess with things and overclocking gives me a whole excuse to mess with settings and tweak etc...

Instead I have to sit back and twiddle my thumbs :(

I have already totally modified and overclocked my Graphics card, I have nothing to do ! I was contemplating fitting a HSF to my found card just for the hell of it, thought it wold make a good comedy moment at the next LAN I go to.

Tim

Stiffler

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
Tell you the truth I don't have a clue what the RAM does to my performance :/ Every single person I know has an AMD so I cannot compare it to anything else !

Tim

G