Overhaul to old PC - need opinons.

Horizon

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2001
As the subject says I have recently decided to go ahead and overhaul my aging system, but I am not very good with compatibility issues, specific part requirements, etc. I have a good idea of what I want on the system, but I lack the knowledge of what works best with what.

Current System:

P3 600mHz
128 MB (not sure what kind of RAM - RDRAM?)
Voodoo3 16MB vid card
AWE 32 SoundBlaster LIVE!
Some archaic motherboard probably not made anymore.

So you see my situation, I mostly use the system for gaming (Everquest, DAoC, Quake, CS, etc), web browsing, and some word processing.

I am looking for get the most bang for my buck, and I am not looking for anything elite or over the top, just a competitive gaming system that I could build myself.

I have been looking at the new Athalons (18/1900's) they seem to be pretty nice chips for the price. I would like to have 500+ meg of RAM in the system with room for expansion. Looking at my vid card I am sure in need of an upgrade and was considering a Gforce3 or new Raedon 75/8500 card. Also I know absolutely nothing about Motherboards and compatibility issues between them and components.

I was considering upgrading my OS to Win XP, but I am opening to suggestions on other OS's.

In summation I am looking for an Athalon Chip, 500+ meg RAM, new vid card, new sound card, a MB with room for expansion that won't be out of date within a few months. If you have any suggestions about what types of components (please as much specificity as possible) I should be looking into feel free to add anything. Also if you have a system that is about what I am looking for could list pro's and con's about it.

Thank you for you time. =)

~Horizon