Athlons Move to 0.13 - clock increse as Tualatin?

IIB

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2001
should the athlon move to 0.13 process give it about the same boast as the Tualatin? i heard that the Tualatin can go almost up to 2GHZ if intell wanted it to...
so can we excpect athon with: 0.13(Thourghbird)+SOI(Barton)+Redisign(such as they did with palomino) to go up to 2.7+GHZ...????

if so i dont see any problem for the athlon
to stay competitve with the northwood... in terms of preformace that is...

oh... and sould we excpect SSE2 FPU in the athlons to come?
it will be a good move by AMD i think....

im no expert at cpu design or pc analysis but i thought ppl in the fourm might have some answers for me.
thank you.

zengeos

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2001
I've not heard of the Tualatin being able to go to 2ghz if Intel wanted. Since they couldn't get the P3 above 1ghz, it seems fair to expect up to 30 or 40% increase in performance at best. Still, that's a nice boost. I don't expect Athlon in Thoroughbred to go much above 1.9ghz. It may reach 2ghz, but I wouldn't expect it.

As for SSE2 on Athlon...I have yet to see it on any AMD roadmaps. I see it on the new Hammer chips, but not on the Athlon. That's not to say it won't happen, but AMD was pretty good about mapping the SSE support into Palomino and I would expect them to provide reasonably good notice for SSE2 on a future Athlon chip if it was planned.

Why do I only expect to see Thoroughbred to achieve around 2ghz clockspeed?
Because Palomino already produces portions of the Palomino in .13 traces; this according to Intel.

Mark-

When all else fails, throw your computer out the window!!!

IIB

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2001
about Tualatin going up to 2ghz... well i base this on:
my Thermaltake VOLCANO 6 HSF box says:
"Application:
AMD athlon 1.5GHz+
Intel Pentium3 1.Ghz &
TUALATIN up to 2.0GHZ"...
so i thought the guys at thermaltake know what there
talking about and the TUALATIN can go up to 2GHZ...