1800+ @ 2000+ ?

G

hi everybody!

i know, this might sound like a naive question, but im not very experienced in overclocking.
i will get an athlon XP1800+ a Noiseblocker Blacknoise Gladiator Pro VAS4, and an EPoX 8kha+
now my question is: will i be able to run my cpu @ 2000+, without it getting fried?? Or would it be better to run it @ 1900+ ?

thx for any answers
FrEaKy

if you find any spelling errors you can keep them

Oni

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
overclocking isn't an exact science, if you got some kind of "low noise" fan, chances are its not powerful enough for overclocking. Also depending on your luck you might get a CPU that will overclock quite nicely, or you might get a chip that doesn't want to go much higher than stock speed.
I had a Tbird 700 back in the day that SHOULD have gone up to 850 MHz or higher through multiplier adjustment, and highest I could get it was 800. I also know a guy that runs a 1 GHz AXIA stepping Tbird at 1.5 GHz, and another friend with a 1.2 GHz AXIA stepping that can't even run 1.3 stable. Just test it out when you get it and see how high it'll go, but MAKE SURE you watch your CPU temperatures. Try and keep below 60 degrees Celsius.

Welcome to the end of your life Mr. Intel CPU. Don't worry I promise its going to hurt.

AmdMELTDOWN

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I heard that you have to take your AXP to your local auto detailer and get it defrosted and only then you can have an extra 66Mhz(or 133 in your case?)???

I am not really sure as the link keeps moving around when I try to click on it???

but check out thg's unlocking the AXP article maybe you don't need the trip.

"<b>AMD/VIA!</b>...you are <i>still</i> the weakest link, good bye!"

Atolsammeek

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
depending on the mother board MSI you can clock your fsb to 140 or 144 which would show your cpu as being 1900 and 2000. But keep a eye on the temp

G

>>depending on the mother board MSI you can clock your fsb