Sign in with
Your question

Putting together a new system, need advise.

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
December 27, 2001 9:19:25 AM

Completly off topic but I think the component board could really use a 'General' forum just for posts like these where people are trying to configure a variety of components to work out issues with them.

Anyway here goes.

Firstly I am a novice computer builder and while I do have a small grasp on 'how things work', but I am here to learn more right? I am trying to put together a new system to take to college with me in the fall and I think I have a general idea of what I want in it, but no way to tell what works with what. Heres what I was thinking about:

Mobo: A7A266-E (I am looking for a mobo that is stable, has plenty of room for expansion, and will stay 'competative' for atleast 10 months) Am I getting what I want? Is there anything better, why is it better?

CPU: Palomino Athalon XP 1600 (1.4Ghz, 256KB, 266Mhz, Socket-A, OEM) So this chip is fairly middle of the road but has a good price. I am staying away from the Pentiums just because they are so damn expensive. I understand that the XP chips can match the Pentium series. I also understand they need to be handled very gently.

Vid: Radeon 7500 64MB DDR 3D/DVD AGP 2x/4x & DVI (I can't afford the 8500. Also I can't say why I choose this over the Gforce3's other than the price. Should I buy a Geforce, and why if so?

Sound: Sound Blaster Audigy MP3+ (Tom gave this a really good review and it is fairly inexpensive. Am I on the right course here?)

RAM: I would like 512MB to start with (like i say I hope the mobo will be able to support more if I choose to add down the road.) I hear that 'Crucial' RAM is the best brand. About how much would two sticks of 256 cost me?