G

i am going to build a computer for first time. AMD XP 1900
mobo: Soyo SY-K7VDragon+ 512mb of pc2100 DDR Dram,Swiftech MC370-0A heatsink and fan,64MB GeForce3 TI 500 video card,
2-40gb ATA100 7200rpm harddrives,DVD, and CDRW. i plan on running windows xp. the research that i have done suggests
that this will be a nice system. my question is: is there anything wrong with any componets that i plan on using?
2 part: does anyone have a system like this with any problems? all advice will be appreciated:)

G

thank you for your reply. i have one western digital harddrive already. should the second harddrive be WD,
or will it matter? please excuse my mistakes, for i am new to computers, and posting. thanks again.

pike

Splendid
Nov 10, 2001
Have had a Maxtor. It crashed.
Have heard good things about some model of IBM DD.
If a search is done for "ibm" in the "hard disk" section it will pop up. Yes, just a second opinion, not more than that.
Here is one post to look at: <A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com//modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=9" target="_new">http://forumz.tomshardware.com//modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=9</A>

Danny

Nostradamus: "In the year 2002 naked alien women will descend to earth"<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by pike on 01/01/02 09:23 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

jlbigguy

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I have mixed and matched different brands (specifically WD and Maxtor) in the same system without any problems. As far as reliability, all hard drives will eventually crash, it is the nature of the beast. I have had good warranty exchange services from both WD and Maxtor.

<font color=blue>This is a Forum, not a playground. Treat it with Respect.</font color=blue>

pike

Splendid
Nov 10, 2001