Sign in with
Your question

Dual Processor System

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
January 4, 2002 2:48:26 PM

I'm a starving digital animator/artist looking to upgrade or replace my current setup:

Dual Celeron 500mhz
Abit BP6 Mobo
512MB Kingston PC100 RAM
UATA 33/66 IBM 20GB HD
32MB AGP Asus GeForce2 card
IDE CD,2x CDRW,ZIP
SBLive Value
Win2K Professional

I'm looking to upgrade or replace the old budget beast with a new and improved box at minimal cost (hoping to do it at less than $2000) -

I almost exclusively use it for 3D production work and Photoshop, so I would prefer to get dual proc rather than single. While the old machine still works fine for 2D & Web work, it's beginning to hold me back in the 3D/video editing arena. As I need to put together (develop/render/edit) a 3 minute animated demo reel by end of year, I want to get something that will handle the whole process.

So, what are your recommendations on Mobo/Processor configurations (and other parts if you want to address everything) that satisfy as many of the following criteria as possible:
a.) Not overly expensive
b.) Minimal fuss with Win2K Pro
c.) superior OpenGL performance
d.) Fast as possible for 3D rendering to disk
e.) Decent performance (ideally realtime if you know of any hardware solutions) editing video

Anyone have any ideas or benchmark sites they can point me to?

More about : dual processor system

January 4, 2002 4:21:14 PM

Hmm, you say you want to spend under $2K?

Quote:

So, what are your recommendations on Mobo/Processor configurations (and other parts if you want to address everything) that satisfy as many of the following criteria as possible:
a.) Not overly expensive
b.) Minimal fuss with Win2K Pro
c.) superior OpenGL performance
d.) Fast as possible for 3D rendering to disk
e.) Decent performance (ideally realtime if you know of any hardware solutions) editing video

a.) A dual Athlon MP 1600+ should be the best bang for the buck