P4 or athlon?

G

I'm about to build my first system, and I was thinking of putting athlong 1600+ there, but now I keep hearing stuff about athlon being not as stable (though it preforms better) as the P4, and it has some heating problem..
so I guess my question is, if I want a stable system (high priority) and want it to be strong as well (next priority),
which cpu should I go with, and while you're at it, which board to go along.. (I'm looking atm at the P4 1.6-478 or athlon 1600+), once again consider that I'm a newbie, so if one of the cpu's is more problematic, I'd want to consider that. thanks in advance.

signatures suck!

Raystonn

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2001
While it will not answer your questions on stability (I refrain from those posts as they just turn to flame wars), I suggest you take a look at the "New Computer System Guide" thread on this forum. It has some great suggestions for motherboards, processors, and RAM.

-Raystonn

= The views stated herein are my personal views, and not necessarily the views of my employer. =

Intel_inside

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2001
if you're building your own system I'd suggest a p4. There is less of a chance of something burning up if you make an error building it.

<i>The devil's advocate</i>

somerandomguy

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2001
Athlon CPU's are not unstable, but some of the chipsets that support them are. Have a look at Ray's post about stable AMD platforms.

if you're building your own system I'd suggest a p4. There is less of a chance of something burning up if you make an error building it.

It's true that there is less chance of burning up your CPU with a P4 (or cracking the core), but it you are careful with your installation and read all relevant instructions you still wont have any problems with an AMD system.

"Ignorance is bliss, but I tend to get screwed over."

tlaughrey

Distinguished
May 9, 2001