building a new box, need some advice

paleblueeyes

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2002
This is my first attempt at building a computer. My major dilemma is in what mobo+cpu to get. I've been looking at a xp 1800 but i'm starting to think that a 1600 or 1700 would be just as good. Here's a run down of the other components i'm looking at:

memory: 256mb ddr pc2100 32x64 (nec)
cd: 56x 90ms (acer)
hd: 40gb eide 7200rpm (seagate)
floppy: 1.44mb (teac)
video: geforce mx400 64mb (eagle)

I'm most interested in gaming and my budget is limited. So any advice on mobo+cpu or any pitfalls you can help me avoid will be greatly appreciated.

FatBurger

Illustrious
How about the Epox 8KHA+? KT266a chipset with great overclocking features, and only $98 at <A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&catalog=22&manufactory=1318&DEPA=1" target="_new">Newegg</A>. This was Motherboard of the Year over at HardOCP.com. You'll be ok with the XP 1600+, as the video card will be the main limiting factor in your system. Get something better if you possibly can.

<font color=orange>Quarter</font color=orange> <font color=blue>Pounder</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Inside</font color=orange>

paleblueeyes

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2002
thanks for the advice burger. few ?'s:

I thought i've heard alot of rumblings about problems with the via chipset, any truth to them?

another concern i had is with overheating problems with the xp 1500, 1600, 1700. Supposedly this isn't as bad with the 1800

any recommended vid. cards?

...so i got that goin' for me

FatBurger

Illustrious
I thought i've heard alot of rumblings about problems with the via chipset, any truth to them?

I have the KT133a, which is generally regarded as the most instable ov Via chipsets, yet my computer is very stable. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

another concern i had is with overheating problems with the xp 1500, 1600, 1700. Supposedly this isn't as bad with the 1800