Sign in with
Your question

My guess of Claw-Hammer's clockspeed

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
February 9, 2002 10:25:11 PM

I've been examining many articals about AMD's Clawammer processor (in particular Anandtechs artical) and have been trying to some up with a rough guess of how much better Hammer will be against the Athlon.

Please note I am not very experienced in CPU design or platforms and the figures I am about to come up with are basically off the top of my head, therefore dont take them too seriously, however constructive feedback / opinions would be good.

I have basically taken each performance enhancement of the Hammer mentioned in <A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1546" target="_new">Anandtechs artical</A> and predicted percentage wise what how much it will increase performance compared to the Athlon (palamino)....

1) integrated memory controller = 5%
2) improved branch prediction & larger workload TLBs = 5%
3) Extra cache e.g 512K (compared to the 256K on the Athlon) = 5%

That gives an overall performance increase of 15% over the Athlon (palamino).

I personally think this figure is fairly conservative as things like Hypertransport and addtion of SSE2 will further increase overall performance but for now lets stick to 15%.

OK therefore what I want to do is figure out the clock speed of a 3400+ Clawhammer.....

<b>KEY:</b>
Left Most Column: Athlon PR Rating
Red Column: Actual Mhz
Right Column: 15% increase of Athlon PR rating i.e predicted performnce of the Clawhammer.

<b><i>
2000 <font color=red>1.666</font color=red> 2300
2100 <font color=red>1.732</font color=red> 2415
2200 <font color=red>1.798</font color=red> 2530
2300 <font color=red>1.864</font color=red> 2645
2400 <font color=red>1.93</font color=red> 2760
2500 <font color=red>1.996</font color=red> 2875
2600 <font color=red>2.062</font color=red> 2990
2700 <font color=red>2.128</font color=red> 3105
2800 <font color=red>2.194</font color=red> 3220