Sign in with
Your question

AMD for a programer?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 14, 2002 11:54:27 PM

hi, I'm about to get a new rig, dunno yet exact specifications, but main idea is on athlon xp 1800+ on MSI nForce with 256 mb ddr-sdram & 40 gb maxtor 7200 rpm..
I tend to use the computer alot for programing, and I guess playing as well (not pro gamer, but want to get reasonable preformance). My main concern is the programing part, I have no experience whats or ever with AMD, does anyone know how it preforms with compiling? I'm talking about C,C++,Java, scripts for bash, tcsh, and perl, no assembly at the moment (till my boss decides otherwise..), if any of you have any experience/advice please let me know. thnx!

when everything else fails read the fine manual

More about : amd programer

February 15, 2002 12:01:27 AM

From what I know and have seen in tests, the AXP is excellent at compiling, and can save you from seconds to minutes in rare cases.
But I would also like to hear from others.
Definitly however the AXP is powerful at such.

--
The other day I heard an explosion from the other side of town.... It was a 486 booting up...
February 15, 2002 12:22:27 AM

I can say my 1800 XP cpu compiles excellent. For small projects and scripting you’re not going to notice that much, but large projects are going to be significantly faster. Remember your drive is going to be the biggest bottleneck when compiling. A dedicated drive or raid will definitely make the biggest difference when compiling large projects. Unless you’re really impatient or have a really huge project the above system should be fine.
Related resources
February 15, 2002 1:42:34 AM

The AthlonXP excels at compile jobs, both in Linux and Windows. The fastest Northwood can't even touch it without a hefty overclock. I should know, I regularly compile entire Linux installations from scratch. :wink: