Sign in with
Your question

Feedback Requested

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
March 14, 2002 2:51:48 PM

I am new to the PC building world and I am currently purchasing parts to build my first PC. My goal is to create a very performance oriented PC, most notably for online gaming (I play MMORPG's like Everquest and Dark Age of Camelot) and graphics development (Photoshop) that has the ability to be upgraded down the road. Initially, I don't plan on doing any overclocking but I may want to look into that type of tweaking down the road when I am more comfortable with doing that.

I would like some feedback and/or advice regarding my decisions/choices on parts, keeping the information and goals listed above in mind. My current spec looks like this:

CPU - I am planning on waiting until AMD releases their .13 micron processors, which looks to be next week.
Mainboard - Not sure yet but was leaning towards something by Soyo (due to all the favorable reviews lately), Abit, or Asus.
RAM - 512-1GB (not sure how much yet) of Corsair RAM.
PSU - Enermax 430 watt (can't remember model number).
Hard Drive - Western Digital 120GB w/ 8MB cache.
CDRW - Plextor 40/12/40
DVD - Pioneer 16x front loading.
Floppy - Panasonic 3.5inch
Video Card - Visiontek GeForce 4 4600ti 128MB DDR RAM
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX (external).
Network Card (if not on Mainboard) - Linksys
PC Case - Cooler Master ATC-210 (aluminum case).

That is my listing of basic parts so far. I would like to use an aftermarket CPU heatsink/fan as well. I also need to choose a monitor yet but I am not too concerned about that. Are there any items that I am overlooking or missing? Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated, especially regarding the mainboard for the new .13 AMD processors - are they going to be using a different socket (I assumed so due to different size)?

Thanks.

More about : feedback requested

March 14, 2002 3:17:25 PM