Graphic Design/Gaming Computer

G

OK, I'm a graphic designer who doesn't believe that Macs save lives. I'm currently building a new PC and need it for graphics (Illustrator, Photoshop, Painter) video (Premiere, After Effects) 3D (3D Studio Max), and computer gaming. I've been confused over which processor to buy, unsure whether the P4's optimization for graphics has and will have any real benefit. If I do get a P4, I am planning on coupling it with RDRam or DDR Ram, but since reading benchmark after benchmark and review after review I've realized that their is very little difference between an Athlon XP or a P4 except the price. Any thoughts?

FitChick

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2002
XP represents much better value for money, undeniable, but if you are planning on overclocking, then P4 has more potential (some can get 2.4ghz out of a 1.6ghz apparently), P4 can also be used with RDram, XP can only use DDRram,

If you can wait a month, then AMD will launch its tbred core athlon XPs, which will drive down the price of existing athlons making them very good value for money

presonally i wouldnt even consider the P4

good luck

But the man in the shop said the via C3 was the best processor money can buy!

FatBurger

Illustrious
If all you're doing is graphics work, then go for the Athlon XP.
What's your budget? How important is upgradeability?

<font color=blue>If you don't buy Windows, then the terrorists have already won!</font color=blue> - Microsoft

Oni

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007