Sony Vaio Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

NightHawk21

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2011
Hi, I think this is the right place to post this but if I'm wrong and a mod could move it to the appreciate location I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

Anyways, I have a sony vaio (model: VGN-FZ470E), exact specs: http://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&partNumber=VGNFZ470E/B#specifications (nothing is changed with the exception of the hard drive but I'll get to that in a sec).

My main issue revolves around lines appearing on screen during windows start up and an inability to install drivers for my graphics card, but I'll start from the top.

A couple days ago, a pop up came up that VAIO update found something new and proceeded to download the update. Soon after I started playing oblivion and it worked fine but it eventually crashed. Thinking nothing of it, but annoyed at losing a little bit of unsaved progress from my checkpoint I decided to opt out of playing it again and instead just elected to browse the internet for a it before bed. The next day, I returned to oblivion and it worked fine, but this time it crashed again at which point I stopped playing and switched to league of legends. The game worked fine with no hiccups with the exception of some annoying lag, likely due to another computer's bandwith usage at the time.

The following day, on startup I noticed that the very first screen the computer boots (black screen with VAIO logo) now had a series of gray vertical bars in spread out bunches. The next screen which is supposed to be black not displayed a series of opening brackets "(" one set per line in going like this:
(( (((( (( (( (( ((