Project PC, I am a noob.

Horizon

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2001
Well the parts came today:

Asus A7V333-RAID KT333 Socket A ATX w/ Audio/1394

Antec SX1040B SOHO File Server w/ 400W PSU (Black)

AMD Athlon MP 1800+ 1.533GHz Socket A CPU (Retail)

Sound Blaster Audigy X-Gamer SB0090X (Retail)

Leadtek WinFast A250 TD GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB DDR w/ TV-Out (Retail)

Kingston 512MB DDR SDRAM 64Mx64 PC266 2.5V Unbuffered DIMM

Microsoft Windows XP Professional Full Version (OEM/1pk)

I made a small mistake when ordering and got an Athalon MP (multiple processor). I was told that it didn't matter and would run as if it where an XP.

As instructed I started with the mobo first. CPU and heatsink went in like a breeze, the pictures on the 'QuickInstall' pamphlet that the components come with make this even easier. The Kingston RAM clipped in very nicely, no complaints there either. One thing, it does not show where the fan leads from the heatsink should plug to on the mobo. I gave it my best guess, I know bad idea. There has only one connection on the thing I could find that woudl fit, I put it in there.

Devices where a little tougher. It was hard making them fit the Antec SOHO 1040 case, especially the CD ROM drives. Seems like the Floppy is too far back in the case too, looks very odd. Here's where I get confused. IDE cables. I found the floppy connection on the mobo, and poped in the smaller IDE cable. My 20 GB Western Digital 7200 RPM HD was a little more of a challenge. I put it in the very first IDE connection point (there are 2 IDE slots on the mobo and 2 'Promise RAID' slots.) I look at an IDE cables and I see I------I---I each dark line is a connection. I used the very first and last on both the HD and CD-ROM. I don't know if this is correct.