XP or TBred

G

i would like to buy an amd cpu but i dont know if i have to wait the newest Thorobred flagship cpu ?

thanks for any comment.

hey, im a newbie, keep it easy men. be cool and be patient. thanks. :)

FiL

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2002
well pricing-wise i think that the present day AthlonXP's (Palomino) will be priced the same as the new Thoroughbreds...this is because AMD will market TBreds under the same name (AthlonXP) and will thus probably keep it's prices roughly similar.

The TBreds will be out in 2-4 weeks...we hope. All the community here has been waiting and waiting for them.

TBreds will run a little colder than Palominos and be slightly better for overclocking.

It all depends on how desperate you are to make your PC....the difference between Palomino and Tbred is not going to be that much, but if you can wait, I'd recommend you do :)

FiL

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2002
lol, i know, are these things ever going to come out?

from what i hear now the CPU's are ready, it's AMD marketing (the worst bit of AMD) that are deciding when to release them.....forgot where i heard that but it sounded real.

FiL

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2002
well i've not tried to OC a TBred yet, so i wasn't going to "jump the gun" but yeah, i have high hopes that the TBred will be a great OC-ing chip :)

juin

Distinguished
May 19, 2001
Lot cooler, and a Lot better for overclocking.

That theory it have never been able to prove it.NW overclocking is real and it now.There still 1.65 volt question.If someone want a AMD cpu wait for clawhammer or buy a P4 NW now

cheap, cheap. Think cheap, and you'll always be cheap.AMD version of semi conducteur industrie

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
Say, if an AXP 1800+ has average temps of 43º, what would a Tbred give?

Eden, friend, I know a thing or two about semiconductors, but I am not a magician or a psychic, and I dont know what average temp you should expect :)

:wink: The Cash Left In My Pocket,The BEST Benchmark :wink:

Matisaro