new 3d rendering workstation

brianrg

Distinguished
May 10, 2002
I am a newbie here and am trying to put a new 3D rendering workstation together w/ price/performanc in mind - 2k would be the absolute max I would spend.

Looking at AMD Athlon XP 2100, Pentium 4 2.4, Pentium 4 2533 for single processors
or dual athlon mp 2000's or dual pentium 4 xeon 2.4's or 2.2's.
Looking at Western Digital WD 1000 8MB, Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 60 for hard drives.
Looking at DDR RAM or RDRAM - 1.5GB to 2GB.
Looking at MSI, Asus, Abit motherboards.
Looking at Nvidia or 3dlabs video cards.
Looking for a CDRW drive.

Can someone outline a suggested system for me? What kind of retailer does one go to put such a system together?

Thanks,
Brian

Matisaro

Splendid
Mar 23, 2001
For the price of a single 2.4ghz p4 you can pretty much get both dual processors, for rendering duals help alot.

Kelledin can set you up with a spec for a good duallie system, I prefer single cpus myself.

:wink: The Cash Left In My Pocket,The BEST Benchmark :wink:

HonestJhon

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2001
dual mps would be best cost effective option...
as much ram as you can afford.
i would get the 8mb WD...
motherboard...dunno...sorry.
video card...i would have said 3dlabs like a year ago...but i havent kept up on their products...but a geforce4 quadro would be a good option...
Cdrw...any name brand at least 24x. (i think they might have gotten past 32x burners now? not sure).
when it comes to 3d rendering, you want as much ram as you can get...and dual processors helps a lot.
and the cache on the HD will help it keep up...
sorry i wasnt too detailed, but i hope that helps. :smile:

-DAvid

-Live, Learn, then build your own computer!-

NurseMSIC

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
For my 2 cents (well 2p in England), i think all too often people think workstation = dual processing without thinking it through.