newbie system approval

G

o.k up until about a week or two ago i knew pretty much squat about hardware. I have learned quite a bit in this time mostly from the helpful people on all the various hardare forums.. basically i am a student who needs to get a new PC Mostly for web design i want it to be as powerful and as stable as possible while being able to provide me with decent future upgrade options. I have decided to build my own and after much discussion and suggestions this system below is what i'm currently looking at and what has been suggested to me. Please give any advice or suggestions as they are much appreciated to this newbie. i am on a certain budget here but it's probably pointless talking specific prices because i live in New Zealand- (different pricing & exchange rate)

CPU: Intel P4 1.8A Socket 472
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-8ITXE (i850)
RAM: 2 x 256MB PC800 RIMM
GFX: Matrox G450 AGP
HDD: Maxtor D740X 40GB ATA133 7200rpm
Case: iCute of your choice. includes good 320W PSU
Monitor: Auriga 19NF
Keyboard: BTC Windows Keyboard
Mouse: MS Intellimouse Explorer Optical

so thats it what do you think? i am not using it to play games or really to watch dvds either just for web design pretty much so thats why i was told to get the matrox instead of something like a g force etc.. the two things i am looking at changing at the moment are the screen (not sure about the quality of this one) and the case (i would really like an emermax FS-710 if i have enough $) i am totally new at this and am going on the advice given plus whatever i can find on the net which can be somewhat overwhelming to a newbie so any suggestions on what i should change please let me know..

NurseMSIC

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
Well, since no one else has replied, i'd say that your system looks pretty good. It will certainly feel 'fast', will play the latest games for years to come, will be a decent work machine for a good 3 or 4 years, and you've got plenty of room to maneuver.