Does the latest P4 really outperform a Dual Athlon

buckeye

Distinguished
May 20, 2002
I work in the graphics industry creating 3D models and animations. I am a firm believer in Dual CPU systems (for what I do) and love the performance we have achieved by building many Dual Athlon workstations and Render servers. I was surprised by the latest article about the P4/2533. In the Lightwave render bench it shows faster than Dual 1900+ machines benched in another article.

I have to spec and build 6 more workstations by mid-september. I had planned on them being Dual 2000+ (or latest) MPs on a Thunder K7 with 2-3GB DDR, IDE RAID, and a Wildcat 5110 Graphics card. (This system works well, we are currently running a SCSI Raid version).

Here is my question. If a single P4/2533 beats a Dual 1900+ MP, what counter move does AMD have to compete?

bront

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2001
Not all reviews are created equal, and the best way to compair benchmarks is in the same review or at least with as much similar hardware as is possable.

For some things, yes, a single P4 2533 will be faster, but so would an XP 2200+, however, many graphics programs do know how to use dual CPUs to the fullest. The only thing that hinders a dual Athlon system is limited memory bandwidth, which the P4 can easily outclass it in with Rambus ram.

"Search your feelings you know it to be true, I am your... twin sister" - Darth Vader

Kemche

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2001
Here is my question. If a single P4/2533 beats a Dual 1900+ MP, what counter move does AMD have to compete?

To answer you question? Nothing right now but wait till Hammer to release.

I think AMD is going to have really hard time competing form next couple of Quarters. They will not get the preformance crown back until Hammer is released. And the preformance of the Hammer is still will be on par with or slighly more the Top of the Line P4 available.