I'm confused..

G

Hi:

I’m fairly new to computers and I‘m trying to understand some things. I’m very confused. I’m hoping someone can help me out with my query. Can someone explain the whole concept of CPU FSB, L1 cache, and L2 cache, motherboard BUS Speed and how all those interact to effect computer performance?
Let me explain my system and then I’ll show my ignorance by asking specific questions.
My system:
I have a board that allows me to set the CPU/FSB Frequency (whatever that is) at 133MHz or 100MHz. It is presently set at 133MHz. My CPU is a 1335Mhz Athlon XP 1500 with 266Mhz FSB (?) and it has a L1 cache (?) of 64K and 256KB of L2 cache (?). According to my manuals my VIA KL133a chipset has a 200/266 Mhz FSB. I have 512MB of 133MHz SDRAM (my board does not support DDR RAM, whatever that is).

Questions: Is the 133MHz the BUS speed of the whole motherboard? If so, does it mean that although my CPU has a FSB (I’m assuming FSB is a similar type of BUS specifically for the CPU??) of 266MHz that it can only use 133MHz of that 266Mhz to communicate with the motherboard and components on the motherboard such as my chipset? Basically I’m led to believe that all communication between all components on the motherboard is done at 133MHz, as it’s the speed of the motherboard BUS. Yes/No? If this is the case why are all the components produced with varying speeds when their actual operating speed will be determined by the motherboard BUS speed? If this is not the case please enlighten me!!

What is L1 and L2 cache and what does it do? I know it is some sort of high speed memory for the CPU but why is there two types?
Also my memory is PC133 SDRAM. Recommended RAM for my CPU is DDR RAM but my board does not support it. How does this affect my system?