Sign in with
Your question

newbie p4 system approval (final analysis)

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
May 28, 2002 7:36:38 AM

o.k so this is the semi-final list of parts.. it's changed a wee bit since i posted the first time.. please share your thoughts & suggestions regarding any part listed here or the overall system, because i am still very new to this.. but have learnt heaps thanks to all the various people on the hardware forums around... i am a student and this is a major pruchase for me i'm having to sell some f my loved audio equipment to get this system so i want it to be as good as possible and last me as long as possible.. (will be used for design and maybe a little music production)...

Maxtor D740X 60Gb IDE Hard Disk Drive Ultra ATA133

Matrox Millennium G450 16Mb DDR Dual Head AGP Display Card: 360Mhz DAC, DDRAM,

Intel Pentium 4 Socket 478 2.0GHz Northwood & Fan CPU

ENERMAX FS-710B, Black front, Black sides, NO PSU.

350w Enermax EG365P-VE ATX Power Supply

56K V92 Upgradeable PCI

Viewsonic E95 19" monitor

Gigabyte GA-8ITXE Socket 478 ATX Intel 850 Chipset

512B RDRAM, PC800MHz, Kingston

MS Optical IntelliMouse USB & PS/2 (OEM)

IBM SELECT TOUCH KEYBOARD - Quiet 104 key PS2 connector -BLACK

(if your wondering about the 56k modem - dailup 56k connections are the norm down here in new zealand...)

couple of thoughts currently rolling over in my head...

go with ASUS P4T-E mobo instead of gigabyte ?
go with 1gb kingston instead of 512 ?

:) 
May 28, 2002 6:37:08 PM

1. That 16 meg vid card looks like a serious bottleneck in that system. I'd go with a Radeon 8500 or a GF4 Ti4200. Really depends on your needs though, which you didn't post.

2. Your best investment is your monitor, it will become obsolete at the slowest rate compared to other hardware like cpus, mobos, etc. I don't know a lot about Viewsonic, so I can't say either way, but my point is a good monitor is a good investment.

3. No CDRW or DVD ?